Furtherance: Day Seventy-Four

Just a couple of sentences tonight. A lot of thought about how to handle this current scene, but I was too tired to put down any significant amount of words.

Also, some thought given about the plan to publish this under a pseudonym. The more I write it, the more it’s coming into line with my overall fiction tone, so I don’t think I’ll be using the fake name after all (phew!). Not that this will match my other work blow-for-blow — it’s still going to be a lighter, kinder piece than I usually do. You won’t see anything like the suicide-by-crowbar from Face After Face or the, well, crawlspace from Crawlspace in it. On the other hand, it won’t have quite the youthful, semi-innocent feel of Voidville, either. So I think it’s ultimately going to be a ‘Stephen Couch’ book, just one with a somewhat different vibe than other things I’ve done.

Might follow up on this post later, as the current novel progresses. Maybe more meandering thoughts on categorizing books beyond standard genre, and if it’s even worth that degree of nitpickiness when they all spring from the same author’s brow…

Totals

Total Today: 39

Total Overall: 63195

Total Average: 865

The Anti-Writing Equation

TV: Watched the latest Brooklyn Nine-Nine and an episode each of The Old Guys and My Hero.

Reading: Four-fifths done with The Naked God by Peter F Hamilton; one-fifth done with Ex-Communication by Peter Clines.

Games: Same idle games as usual.

