Furtherance: Day Twenty-Three

Today

This has happened once before: about a year and a half ago, I started writing a short story called Crawlspace. Before I knew it, it had expanded into a novella. Before I knew it again, it had expanded even more, into a full novel.

Fantasy Story One seems to be following a similar path. I don’t think it’s going to be a novel, but then again, who knows? All I’m sure of is that it needs to be longer than a short story. Whether that turns out to be a novella, a novel, a trilogy of novels…

I spent a lot of time thinking about the short story today, and where I wanted to take it, and I just feel like the setup I’ve got in place in Fantasy Story One deserves room to stretch and grow. I could pare it down to the skeleton and get a story out of it, but I don’t feel like it would be as satisfying, to either me or my imagined legion of readers. There are characters I want to explore beyond my protagonist. There’s background to the world I want to fill in. There are subplots I want to expand and weave through the rest of the narrative. And if it remains a short story, I just can’t do that.

So, according to my own rules, since I’m no longer going to be writing it to pitch to an outside publisher, Fantasy Story One will now be known by its true title: Blackletter.

What does this mean for my plans? Well, I don’t think I’ll have time to finish any of my intended short stories with end-of-September deadlines. Blackletter will get rotated into a weeknight project, but I probably won’t get back to it until December at the soonest, since I’ve got my live-blogged novel in October and my dream-inspired pseudonymous thing to work on starting in November.

Tomorrow, I’ll take a look at my to-do writing spreadsheet, see what short story markets I’ve got marked as having October deadlines, and start on one of them.

But for today, no writing. Best laid plans, and all that…

Totals

Today’s Total: 0

Total Overall: 8012

Total Average: 348

The Anti-Writing Equation

TV: Watched the latest Doctor Who and Review, finished The Thick of It season one, and watched three episodes of Star Trek: Voyager season three.

Games: Same idle games as usual.

