Furtherance: Day Five

Day Session

Readers of this blog (i.e. me) may have noticed that I’m no longer tracking the days where I don’t write anything. Well spotted!

I may not hit my story-every-five-days deadline, but that’s all right. Even if I only get one short story written in a month, it’s one more than I had. I’ve gotten pretty Zen about this whole writing thing. Knowing you’ll never be a success is quite liberating!

In other news, it looks like I’m going to be attempting another serialized novel in October for my participation in Countdown To Halloween. It’s an idea I’ve had rattling around for a while, and tonally it’s come full circle from supernatural coming-of-age to supernatural coming-of-age with a nasty twist to supernatural coming-of-age that goes darker than the bottom of the Marianas Trench back around to just plain supernatural coming-of-age. Doing dark stuff is no problem, but I like this novel idea too much to burn it to the ground in the name of currently-trendy spitefulness towards fiction.

As far as Fantasy Story One, got to the end of the first section.

Night Session

Finished the new chapter in a suitably frustrating “character learns something important but is prevented from telling anyone” fashion!

Totals

Today’s Day: 263
Today’s Night: 283
Today’s Total: 546

Days Overall: 1228
Nights Overall: 1053
Total Overall: 2281

Days Average: 246
Nights Average: 211
Total Average: 457

The Anti-Writing Equation

TV: Started Star Trek: Voyager season three* (my Trek re-watch will probably go on hiatus once the Fall TV season gets going); watched the season finale of Playing House.

Reading: Got a little further into The Deep by Nick Cutter.

Games: Same idle games as usual.

*Seska’s dead. Hooray!**

**Suder’s dead. Boo!

